You are here

Book Recommendations

All of these books can be found in the SHG Library. 

 

Mrs. Bielby Recommends…….

 

Truly Devious (Truly Devious #1) by Maureen Johnson

Truly Devious is reminiscent of an old murder mystery.  Wealthy tycoon, Albert Ellingham, opened Ellingham Academy in the early 1920s.  It was a school for geniuses, where students could study a variety of non-traditional subjects.  All was well until his wife and daughter were kidnapped by Truly Devious. Flash forward to present day and Stevie Bell is now attending the Academy.  She is obsessed with true crime and would love nothing more than to solve the the unsolved mystery of the Ellingham disappearance. Book one in a new series that promises to be intriguing and fun!

Denton Little’s Deathdate (Denton Little #1) by Lance Rubin- eBook

In this world, everyone knows when they will die.  Denton Little is scheduled to die in two days. That means he has two days to attend his funeral, say goodbye to family and friends, and check the last items off his bucket list.  But things are not what they seem. This book is laugh at loud hilarious but also very endearing. Readers who enjoyed Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews will enjoy this one.

There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins

Makani is settling in to her grandmother’s Nebraska home but she is a long ways from Hawaii.  She hoped to leave her past in Hawaii but when the murders start, she knows that it is catching up with her.  This is like the classic slasher film, fast paced and exciting, you won’t want to put this one down or be home alone again……..

To Kill a Kingdom by Alexandra Christo

Lira is a Siren whose job it is to lure sailors to their death.  But not just any sailors, princes. After she makes a tragic mistake, her mother, the Sea Queen, sends her to land as punishment.  She can return once she delivers the heart of Prince Elian. Full of swashbuckling fun, this book is a fun retelling of The Little Mermaid.

 

.